Five quarterbacks from SEC schools, and three more from the Sun Belt Conference, were named to the Manning Award watch list, released on Wednesday.

Jalen Hurts of Alabama, along with Austin Allen of Arkansas, Georgia's Jacob Eason, Mississippi State's Nick Fitzgerald, Missouri's Drew Lock were the SEC quarterbacks included.

Representing the Sun Belt Conference on the list are Taylor Lamb of Appalachian St., along with Idaho's Matt Linehan and Brandon Silvers of Troy.

The award given, given to the top college quarterback in college football, is named after former New Orleans Saints quarterback Archie Manning, as well as his sons, Peyton and Eli.

Seven finalists from last year's award are on the preseason list of 30, including Hurts and Lamar Jackson (Louisville), Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma), J.T. Barrett (Ohio State),  Sam Darnold (USC), Jake Browning (Washington), and Luke Falk (Washington State).

Clemson's Deshaun Watson, who is now a member of the NFL's Houston Texans, won the award in each of the last two years.

USC's Matt Leinart won the inaugural Manning Award, handed out in 2004.

View the complete Manning Award watch list, below:

Austin Allen, Sr., Arkansas
Josh Allen, Jr., Wyoming
Jake Browning, Jr., Washington
Sam Darnold, So., USC
Eric Dungey, Jr., Syracuse
Jacob Eason, So., Georgia
Luke Falk, Sr., Washington St.
Riley Ferguson, Sr., Memphis
Ryan Finley, Jr., NC State
Nick Fitzgerald, Jr., Mississippi St.
Quinton Flowers, Sr., USF
Deondre Francois, So., Florida St.
Jalen Hurts, So., Alabama
Lamar Jackson, Jr., Louisville
Daniel Jones, So.-R, Duke
Taylor Lamb, Sr., Appalachian St.
Matt Linehan, Sr., Idaho
Drew Lock, Jr., Missouri
Baker Mayfield, Sr., Oklahoma
Trace McSorley, Jr., Penn St.
Brogan Roback, Jr., Eastern Michigan
Mason Rudolph, Sr., Oklahoma St.
Brett Rypien, Jr., Boise St.
Brandon Silvers, Sr., Troy
Nick Stevens, Sr., Colorado St.
Brent Stockstill, Jr., Middle Tennessee
Clayton Thorson, Jr., Northwestern
Mike White, Sr., Western Kentucky
Logan Woodside, Sr., Toledo

More From Talk Radio 960 AM