Redistricting is set to happen after this year's US Census and Acadiana does not have a seat at the table in one key committee. Assignments have been announced this week and the House and Governmental Affairs Committee does not have a single representative from Acadiana. The committee is made up of 10 Republicans and 6 Democrats. The House and Governmental Affairs Committee will be tasked with drawing new district lines based on population shifts.

Rep. Alan Seabaugh was on KEEL News in Shreveport this morning and said that the decision was contentious. He also said committee assignments were very clearly handed out as a reward for legislators who supported Rep Clay Schexnayder's bid for Speaker. Listen to Rep. Seabaugh's comments below.

See the full list below:

House and Governmental Affairs
Dwight, Stephen Chairman
Duplessis, Royce Vice Chair
Bagala, Reggie Paul "Bagala"
Carter, Sr., Wilford Dan
Farnum, Les
Gadberry, Foy Bryan
Henry, Charles Alexander
Hodges, Valarie
Horton, Dodie
Ivey, Barry
Jenkins, Sam
Johnson, Mike
LaCombe, Jeremy
Newell, Candace N.
Schamerhorn, Rodney Wayne
White, Malinda
Magee, Tanner Ex Officio
Schexnayder, Clay Ex Officio


Talk Radio 960 AM logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

More From Talk Radio 960 AM