BATON ROUGE, La. (AP) — The late Rev. T. J. Jemison Sr., a longtime civil rights leader, will be among five people inducted this year into the Louisiana Political Hall of Fame in Winnfield.

Jemison, pastor of Mt. Zion First Baptist Church in Baton Rouge for 54 years, helped lead the first civil rights boycott of segregated seating on public buses in 1953. The Montgomery, Alabama, bus boycott was modeled off the Baton Rouge effort.

The Advocate reports ( ) organizers announced Thursday that Jemison would be an inductee at the March 11 event.

Others include Bud Mapes, a Louisiana Capitol lobbyist for 50 years; Jimmy Dimos, former Louisiana House speaker and retired district judge; Jim Beam, a veteran Lake Charles American Press reporter and former editor; and Dave Norris, mayor of West Monroe since 1978.


Information from: The Advocate,


Copyright 2017 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More From Talk Radio 960 AM