More Than 400 New Louisiana State Laws Go Into Effect Aug. 1
Louisiana has a few new laws on the books starting today (8/1/18). And by a few, we mean more than 400 that will take effect after they were passed in the latest regular legislative session.
What are some of the big ones? Well, here you go:
- Hazing penalties are going to be toughened up. The new law makes hazing a felony. It could land the offender up to five years if the victim dies or is seriously injured.
- Marriage licenses now will only take 24 hours to receive. It previously took three days.
- There are new rules surrounding those DNA testing kits to find out your family's history. Companies are now required to tell you if your DNA will be used in areas like research or criminal investigations.
- Public school teachers and certain school employees are now eligible for up to 30 days of paid leave if they choose to adopt a child.
- Public schools will have to give parents and students information about the "health risks and harms associated with pornography."
- Short-term rental sites won't be allowed to have cameras, unless it's posted on the premises.
- Louisiana's regulations on concealed handguns in churches will no longer involve an eight-hour annual training mandate.
For a complete list of all the new laws in effect beginning August 1, 2018 in Louisiana, click here.